Volume 92, Issue 27

Thursday, October 22, 1998

mark's going to jail


SPORTS
 

Getting ready for ice wars in Far West


Geoff Robins/Gazette

PREPARING FOR WAR. The Mustang hockey team will be facing off against some tough competition this year in their quest for the national championships.

By John Dinner

Gazette Staff

The National Hockey League season is well under way now and it's time for Ontario University Athletics hockey action to get going.

This year Western boasts a solid team and one of the deepest rosters in quite some time, with key additions up front and along the blueline. This bodes well for the squad as they enter action this year in the Far West division, which many are saying is the toughest division in Ontario this year.

If the pre-season is any indication, the 'Stangs are definitely on the right track. They finished the exhibition schedule at two wins and four losses, however, three of those losses came against some of the top schools from the United States. Their other loss came against the top ranked UQTR in the final of the Oktoberfest tournament, where the they grabbed the silver.

"We're pleased with the results from the tournament. You never know what to expect in these [pre-season] tournaments," said Western head coach Barry Martinelli. "But when we beat Guelph [6-3] we knew we had an opportunity to go to the finals."

In the tournament, Western boasted two all-stars – Rob Schweyer, who had a three-goal performance against Waterloo and Cam Law, the fourth-year defenseman who played solid defensively while sparking the offense during exhibition play.

With the loss of last season's top scorer Jeff Mancini, Western will need players like Schweyer to step up their offensive output.

"The loss of Mancini could really hurt them but players like [Damon] Hardy, [Shaun] Fairweather and Schweyer should carry the load for Western," said Guelph head coach Marlin Muylaert. "The thing that jumps out at you about Western is their tremendous depth. From their forwards right through to the defence and goaltending, Western is looking really good."

Hardy, who was second in scoring on the team last year, is going to be looked upon to not only provide on-ice leadership but also to put the puck in the net.

"We've got a better work ethic and discipline this year and with more depth we should really challenge for first [in the Far West]," Martinelli said.

With a solid returning core of players, along with some experienced new additions, Western should compete for national recognition.

"Our goal is to play in the nationals and we feel we've got the team to do it," said third-year defenseman Kevin Murnaghan.

However, before getting to that level the Mustangs have to get out of the very tough Far West. "It's going to be a very competitive year," Martinelli said. "The toughest part of our year could be just trying to get out of our division."

The season gets under way for the team tonight as they travel to Guelph to take on the young upstart Gryphons, a team they beat in the Oktoberfest tournament.

"Last year I felt we could compete with Guelph but that they were still better," Martinelli said. "But this year I believe we're better and we will be able to compete and beat many of the top teams in the OUA."



UWO VARSITY HOCKEY MUSTANGS
1998-99 TEAM ROSTER




NO NAME POS YR HT WT

1 HALL, Mike Goal 3 5'11 155

31 ENGLAND, Denver Goal 1 5'11 163

33 DENOMME, C.J. Goal 4 6'1 190

3 WEBB, Paul Defense 2 6'1 165

4 MUNRO, Matt Defense 3 6'0 196

6 MURNAGHAN, Kevin Defense 3 6'1 206

7 WATSON, Craig C/LW 2 5'6 155

9 FAIRWEATHER, Shaun C/LW 2 5'11 178

10 SCHWEYER, Rob RW 3 6'1 197

11 ALVIANO, Ben LW 3 6'2 200

12 PETRIE, Jeff Center 3 6'0 195

14 HARDY, Damon LW 4 5'11 182

15 MOSS, Jim Defense 1 5'11 205

16 LINTON, Todd RW 1 6'4 200

17 RICE, Aaron C/RW 2 6'1 180

18 FROST, Rob LW 1 5'11 187

19 LAW, CAM Defense 4 5'11 185

21 BIRCH, Joe Defense 2 6'3 202

22 HARE, Kevin Center 1 5'10 180

23 BRADLEY, Todd RW 4 6'0 192

24 HARE, Chris LW 1 5'10 180

25 MANLEY, Steve Def/For 1 6'1 190

26 FIACCONI, Adriano RW 1 6'1 195

27 GEORGE, Chris RW 2 6'4 202

28 GIBSON, Mike Center 3 5'10 180





HEAD COACH: Barry Martinelli

ASSOCIATE COACH: Clarke Singer

ASSISTANT COACH: Sam Semple

GRAD. ASST. COACH: Mark Cernjul

GOALIE COACH: Bruce Okrainec

VIDEO TECHNICIAN: Cam O'Donnell

SCOUTING STAFF: Greg Clarke, Tim Hart

TRAINERS: Dave Mindenhall, Mike Vilon

EQUIPMENT MGR: Sean Wheatley

STUDENT TRAINER: Jeff Smallwood





1998/99 Mustang Hockey Schedule

Tonight 7:30pm @Guelph

Saturday Oct. 24 7:30pm @Toronto

Friday Oct. 30 7:30pm vs. Queen's

Saturday Oct. 31 7:30pm vs. RMC

Friday Nov. 6 7:30pm vs. Windsor

Sunday Nov. 8 3:30pm @ Windsor

Wednesday Nov. 11 7:30pm vs. Laurier

Friday Nov. 13 7:30pm @ Waterloo

Wednesday Nov. 18 7:30pm @ Laurier

Friday Nov. 20 7:30pm vs. Waterloo

Thursday Nov. 26 7:30pm vs. York

Saturday. Nov. 28 2:00pm @ Laurentian

Friday Jan. 8 7:30pm vs. Laurier

Sunday Jan. 10 3:30pm @ Windsor

Friday Jan. 15 7:30pm vs. Brock

Saturday Jan. 16 7:30pm vs. Ryerson

Thursday Jan. 21 7:30pm vs. Windsor

Saturday Jan. 23 7:30pm @ Windsor

Wednesday Jan. 27 7:30pm vs. Laurier

Friday Jan. 29 7:30pm @ Waterloo

Thursday Feb. 4 7:30pm @ York

Saturday Feb. 6 7:30pm vs. Laurentian

Friday Feb. 12 7:45pm @ Ryerson

Saturday Feb. 13 3:45pm @ Brock

Wednesday Feb. 17 7:30pm vs. Waterloo

Friday Feb. 19 7:30pm @ Laurier

Wednesday Feb. 24 Divisional Semi-Finals

Thursday March 4 Divisional Finals

Saturday March 13 Queen's Cup

@ Waterloo

Thursday March 25 CIAU Championships

@ Saskatoon


To Contact The Sports Department: gazette.sports@julian.uwo.ca

Copyright The Gazette 1998