Volume 95, Issue 94

Wednesday, April 3, 2002
Search the Archives:
Tips for searching
Campus and Culture
Submit Letter
Contact Us
About the Gazette


'Lots of guys are scared of him'

Teachers, students celebrated

Parking changes shaft students: Vavala

Western: rich kids and rich professors

JSU explores Mideast conflict

Feds to clog "brain drain" with cash

News Briefs

Teachers, students celebrated

By Erin Conway-Smith
Gazette Staff

Outstanding undergraduate students and faculty were honoured yesterday at the annual University Students' Council students' awards ceremony.

Wes Brown, USC VP-student affairs, presented Student Awards of Merit to four upper-year students who have made notable contributions to student life while maintaining a high academic standard.

"It's ceremonies like this that put things in perspective about the dynamic group of people we have working on this campus," he said.

Awards were given to Sasha Carsen, a fourth-year health science student, Megan Timney, a second-year scholar's electives student, Naomi Loewith, a fourth-year scholar's electives student and Paul Hong, a second-year honours in business administration student.

The Future of Western award – given to a first-year student leader – was received by Mike Heilandt, a psychology student, who said the recognition was an unexpected, but great honour.

"I was really surprised – I didn't even know the award existed," he said.

Western president Paul Davenport said the spirit of student leadership is evident not only in the students honoured, but also in the awards themselves.

"These awards are very special because they are administered by the students," Davenport said.

Teaching Awards were presented by Erin McCloskey, USC VP-education and chair of the Teaching Awards Committee, to faculty members nominated by the student population and evaluated by the committee for their innovative and creative teaching techniques, enthusiasm and approachability.

McCloskey said selecting the four recipients was a year-long process and noted she received 20 nominations, with some professors nominated five or six times by students.

Awards were presented to James Erskine, a professor at the Richard Ivey School of Business, Mark Workentin, a chemistry professor, Marjorie Johnson, a kinesiology professor and Christopher Keep, an English professor.

Keep said he felt honoured that his students took the initiative to nominate him for the award.

"That's the part I value most about the award," he said.

The 11th annual awards are the result of a partnership between the USC, Western's Alumni Association and Scotia Bank.

To Contact The News Department:

Copyright The Gazette 2002