Students, faculty awarded by USC

Tuesday, April 7th, 2009

Western’s outstanding faculty members and students were awarded by the University Students’ Council Wednesday night in University College’s Conron Hall.

Western President and Vice-Chancellor Paul Davenport, USC President Fab Dolan and various USC Board of Directors members heaped praise on the winners.

The Future of Western award is given to a first-year student excelling in at least two of the following areas: academics, student government, athletics, the arts or philanthropy.

This year’s winner was Kristen Holman, whose accomplishments include teaching English in an orphanage in the Dominican Republic and representing Western at a Model United Nations conference.

Five students received the Student Award of Merit, which has similar criteria but is awarded to upper-year students.

The winners were Amy Bi, who travelled to Honduras with the World University Service of Canada Club; Andrew Boozary, founder of the Death to X project, which looks to end xenophobia at Western; Christina Katsios, the only Canadian recipient of the prestigious International Fulbright Science and Technology Award; Kay Lam, director of Western’s Student Refugee Program; and Viktoria Shihab, who plans to teach in Kenya for the Action for Children in Conflict Program.

The last student award was the USC Alumni Award. It was awarded to two undergraduate students not in their graduating year who demonstrate financial need and are involved in extracurricular activities at Western.

The recipients were Hwa Lee, media and communications director for the Korean Students’ Association, and Xu Wang, director of the activity department for the King’s Chinese Students’ Association.

Four professors were given the Award of Excellence in undergraduate teaching. They were selected from over 150 faculty members who were nominated by their students.

The award’s criteria included innovative teaching techniques, enthusiasm and approachability. The winners were Radoslav Dimitrov, a political science professor; Doug Leighton, a Huron history professor; Tim Wilson, a health science professor; and Patrick Whippey, a physics professor.

Share this article on:

Facebook | DiggDigg |

Copyright © 2008 The Gazette