Western professors receive Order of Canada distinction

Tuesday, April 7th, 2009

Gordon McBean and William Wall

Courtesy of Gordon McBean and Karen Sabine

JOINING CANADA’S ELITE. (L to R) Western professors Gordon McBean and William Wall have been named to the Order of Canada. McBean is a chair for Western’s Institute for Catastrophic Loss Reduction, while Wall has been recognized for his work in liver transplantation.

Governor General Michaëlle Jean has named two Western professors to the prestigious Order of Canada.

Gordon McBean, a professor in the department of geography, and William Wall, from the Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry and a part of the London Health Sciences’ Centre division of general surgery, were appointed in recognition of their respective lifetime achievements.

The Order of Canada recognizes a lifetime of outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation.

McBean also works as research chair for policy with the university’s Institute for Catastrophic Loss Reduction. He has been recognized for his contributions to the advancement of climate and atmospheric sciences in Canada, something he still strives for.

“Despite current economic conditions we can’t let [climate science] go on the backburner,” McBean said, adding he hoped the prestigious award will serve as recognition of the topic’s importance.

In his work McBean has acted as a leader in national and international scientific organizations, helping to generate and deliver research findings to policymakers and stakeholders.

Wall was specifically distinguished for his contributions to the development and advancement of liver transplantation in Canada.

“I am deeply honoured,” Wall said, adding he was most proud of promoting awareness of the need to increase organ donations.

The Order of Canada recognizes all Canadians and represents the highest attainable honour for civilians. McBean and Wall were among 60 appointments made by Jean on Dec. 30.

McBean and Wall will be attending a ceremony later this year where they will receive their insignia.

Share this article on:

Facebook | DiggDigg |

Copyright © 2008 The Gazette